This rock shelter only has one small carving of an ibex to display, but this is an important archeological site. It was first excavated in the 1950's and thousands of artifacts have been pulled from the dirt, proof that the shelter was inhabited from about 35,000 to 20,000 years ago. A museum at the site showcases some of the carved blocks, jewelry, and sculptures excavated here. Even though it is in the middle of Les Eyzies-de-Tayac, it is not a crowded attraction and is a great way to spend an hour.
Guided tours only, English tours are often available.
Open April to October, open during the other months for groups by reservation only.
Hours and prices (in French)
Address: 20 Rue du Moyen-Age, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac, France
Services: Paid street parking, toilets